My passion is to help others to succeed, to be successful in personal and business lives, and to do and be their best.

I am proud to serve the residents of West Jordan and Taylorsville in the Utah State Senate. My dedication to our constituents and neighbors is shown by tireless efforts to meet with neighbors, running many bills to resolve their problems or getting them to the right state agencies to address needs, constant support of families and children, support of property rights and in setting responsible tax policy.

I have a broad experience in public service, leadership, management, civics, government, organizations and working with people.

My elected offices resulted from neighbors and community leaders asking me to serve, to represent them, and to solve problems. This is a challenge and duty I have successfully done for more than 25 years. I meet with and speak to a single individual through very large groups to address issues, resolve problems, understand their needs, share information and change policy or laws.

My employment experiences include government, real estate development, helping an individual to start the first business through helping major corporations to expand or select new sites, construction, revenue, facilitating small and large land acquisitions and various business expansions and putting suppliers and businesses together to be more successful.

I assist, work with and teach youth groups, I have been a volunteer leader in the Boy Scouts of America for over 15 years, assisted youth sports teams and have spoken to many youth and school groups.


Awards and Recognitions

  • 2016 Legislative Champion, Salt Lake Community College
  • 2016, 2014, 2013 Legislative Champion, Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
  • 2015 Resolution of Appreciation in Support of Education, Jordan School District
  • Taxpayer’s Advocate Award, Utah Taxpayer’s Association, many years
  • 2012,Legislator of the Year, Utah Technology Council
  • 2001 Elected Official of the Year, Utah Issues
  • 2012 Legislator of the Year, Utah Health Underwriter’s Association
  • 2012 Utah Legislator of the Year, Jordan River Commission
  • 2011 Legislator of the Year
  • 2009 Property Tax Achievement Award, International Association of Assessing Officers – Awarded to one public official each year for “. . .outstanding contribution to the improvement of property tax administration and to the realization of the mission of the IAAO through an executive, legislative or judicial action. “
  • 2007 Legislator Achievement Award, Utah Medical Association
  • 2006 Guardian of Small Business, National Federation of Independent Business
  • 2006 Distinguished Service Award, Utah Realtors Association
  • 2005 Legislator of the Year Award, Utah Food Industry Association
  • 2001 Exceptional Services in Utah Legislation Award, Utah Redevelopment Association
  • 1998 Headquarter’s Award for Support of National Guard, Utah Army National Guard

Boards, Committees and Other Appointments

  • Utah State Capitol Arts & Placement Sub-committee, 2010 – 2013
  • Utah State Capitol Preservation Board, 2003 – 2008
  • Utah State Water Development Commission, 2002-2005
  • Utah State Historical Records Advisory Board, 1999-2010
  • Board of Directors, West Jordan Area Chamber of Commerce, 1995-2001
  • Board of Directors, Utah Highway Users, 2008-present
  • Vice President, Utah Highway Users, 2012-present